10
Jan
11

Dave Matthews and Friends (Boston 2003)

I’ve never been one to be obsessed about live concerts about my favorite musicians; often I have made the point not to buy anything live since it seems like a marketing ploy or filler album for the artist; buying them time since to release anything of substance at a later date. 

Recently, and in my old age, I’ve come to appreciate the art of the live concert and what gems they can provide with enlightening the listener with new perpectives and opinions about the artist.  Last month I posted my new discovery of the live music repository Nugs.net and the incredible vast assortment of live material recorded free to the masses; better yet is that the recordings were made directly off the soundboards, so the quality is near perfect!

This might be where my disdain for live shows may have root; the quality.  Back in high school the only live recordings you could get of shows were either the ones the artist released or some bootleg recording made with a hand held tape recorder (yes, I’m that old!).  I recall one trip to NYC in the West Village there was actaully a store (I think on MacDougall) that sold bootleg concert tapes; I think I picked up some random Rush and Van Halen shows and dreaded my purchase all the way home; that was the first and last time I invested in live material.

Yes, there have been the random quality live releases such as Rush’s first live album, 1976’s  “All The Worlds A Stage” and Peter Frampton “Frampton Comes Alive” (but to be honest “Do You Feel Like I Do” and “Show Me The Way” are the only two songs that anyone really remembers, the remainder of the album is not very impressive).  But really I cannot recall any live shows that really were worth the investment long term.  Of course, my new found interest in Phish has changed much of my opinion; Phish’s “A Live One” and “Hampton Comes Alive” are great examples of  incredible live material, but then with technology changing and also Phish taking true “pride in ownership” about their sound, they have redefined why live shows have merit and provide lasting listening pleasure.  The catalog of live Phish that LivePhish.net offers is astounding; and 99.9% is recorded directly off the boards; each show is a quality listening experience.

Although there are many incredible shows available on Nugs.net (I believe a sister site of LivePhish.net), the one I have been listening to non-stop has been the Dave Matthews and Friends show at the FleetCenter in Boston 2003.  Of course having lived in Boston for over a decade, the old Boston Garden has taken on too many names due to greedy corporate sponsorship, I think today it is called the “TD Banknorth Boston Garden North Station Thingy” or something like that, ugh.

The show is a culmination of various artists joining Dave on stage as he released his first solo album entitled Some Devil.  The biggest hit off of this album was “Grave Digger”, but during the concert he plays a plethora of both old and new material; some new solo work and classics from his well known band.  One of the highlights are the songs he plays with longtime friend Tim Reynolds; songs like “Dancing Nancies” and “Typical Situation” are just so well done that you find yourself listening to them over and over.   Matthews is accompanied by the legendary Emmy Lou Harris on songs like “Save Me” and “Oh Sister and the meloncoly sounds of both artists create a tempo that compliments both artists styles.  Trey from Phish accompanies Matthews on classics such as The Bands “Down on Cripple Creek” and Billy Preston’s classic  “Will It Go Round In Circles”.   It is a gem of a show and the sound quality is second to none.

You can download the show for free on Nugs.net (look at the top right of the home page “Free Stash” and scroll down to Dave Matthews and Friends) it is a two-set download and well worth your time, trust me.

We here at HiFi Central are curious on what you think about this show and about Nugs.net; have you found a show that is your favorite?

4 Responses to “Dave Matthews and Friends (Boston 2003)”


  1. 1 ericstraus
    January 10, 2011 at 9:57 PM

    Before the throngs of angry Phishheads come for your head, I’ll politely correct you about “A Live One” – it’s not one show, the songs are pulled from various concerts during 1994.

  2. 2 jacobull
    January 11, 2011 at 2:26 AM

    I appreciate your observations, but I don’t think I specifically defined “A Live One” as one show; much of my editorial was about live concerts in general, no?


Leave a Reply

