03
Nov
10

The dark abyss between the Generation Gap

I was discussing the history of Rock and Roll with a colleague at work the other day during lunch; we were mainly reflecting upon how old we are now these days.  I work at a school and every morning the music teacher does a “this day in music history” to the senior class; it’s a cool idea and usually the students can guess the artist featured like Elvis, Led Zeppelin, Elton John, or even James Brown (although a student answered “Jim Brown”, perhaps he’s on a casual name basis with the now deceased Godfather of Soul, I dunno?); it was reassuring when the younger generation knows some of the influences to the artists they listen to today.

This morning was interesting and morbid at the same time; Bon Jovi was the featured artist and the bands big 1992 hit “Runaway” was featured to see if students could guess the both the song and the artist.  Sadly, out of 130 kids no one knew the song.  All of the older teachers including myself looked at each other in disbelief and that is when I leaned over to one of the senior boys and said “Justin, what year were you born?”, he replied “1993”.  My heart just sank and again, a moment of humbleness and clarity seems to pervade about just how old we have become. I had to go back to my office with my head held low thinking that my “coolness factor” is probably a negative number these days, along with my loss of hair and six pack flab.

Incredibly, Bon Jovi doesn’t seem to age and is just as popular (if not more so) today than in the 80’s and 90’s.  He must be the Ponce DeLeon of New Jersey; I got’s to find’s me some of that special water he’s drinking everyday!

As mentioned with the passing of Tom Bosley, I too at the tender age of 10 did not know any of the forefathers of Rock at the time, until I heardthe remake of Bill Haley and the Comet’s “Rock around The Clock” on Happy Days.  I found a cool clip and thought I would share it with you, this the music that I think today’s generation should also learn about, enjoy.

1 Response to “The dark abyss between the Generation Gap”


  1. 1 ericstraus
    November 4, 2010 at 5:25 PM

    I think you meant Runaway was from 1982, not 1992, right?


Leave a Reply

