05
Dec
09

Poetic Slayer

In anticipation of the February arrival of the all-time Gods of Metal, Slayer, I present to you a poem I wrote following their concert in June of 2006.  Enjoy.

Heavy Metal Poetry

I went last night
To a heavy metal show
The last one I’d been to
Was quite a while ago

I feared that I would be
The oldest one there
But I found many others
Like me, with thinning hair

The seats were vibrating
From the thumping bass drum
It wasn’t too long
Before my ears started to go numb

The mosh pits were thrashing
With shirtless sweaty men
Somebody remind me
How’s that not gay again?

We all came to see Slayer
But four bands played prior
The first three weren’t memorable
But Lamb Of God nearly stole Slayer’s fire

Then Slayer hit the stage
At about a quarter to ten
From the first notes of “South Of Heaven”
I was 21 years old again

I jumped around and head-banged
For over an hour
When I got home my wife opined
That I really needed a shower

Today my neck is sore
And my head is still ringing
But last night was so fun
With all my air-guitar and singing

So thanks to you Slayer
For kicking my ass last night
Right now I don’t regret it
But later when I can’t move my neck, I might

I hope that all of you
In some way, shape, or form
Can share the same joy as I did
And have a piece of your youth reborn

SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER! SLAY-ER!

0 Responses to “Poetic Slayer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

